Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Flea Circus Review

RnR Games Flea Circus

Step right up!  Calling all cats and dogs!  The flea circus is about to begin! 

We love to play games at our house so we were super excited when we were given the chance to try out a fun family card game called Flea Circus by R&R Games

Flea Circus is very simple to play.  The fleas are performing in a circus.  There are fire eaters, fleas who shoot out of cannonballs, flea weightlifting, and various other flea attractions.  The cats and dogs go from tent to tent, trying to decide which show to watch.  Players have to use their best flea cards to attract the most cats and dogs.  Whoever fills their tent with the most "spectator" points wins (dogs are 2 points and cats 1 point). 

Below is the game setup with all cats and dogs in the middle.

This game is right up my daughter's alley as it has 40 rubber dogs and cats (she loves animals).  Every time a dog or cat enters her tent they have to make some sort of noise or say something (of course). 

Below you can see all the cats and dogs at each players "tent".  Notice how they are all watching the fleas on the cards performing their stunts.

And my daughter's favorite attraction card is the one below.  We are guessing he is the flea with the longest beard.  It's really long for a flea, don't you think?

My Thoughts:  Flea Circus is a very cute card game and we have had a lot of fun playing it together.  It is for 2-6 players, and I think the more the merrier.   

Thoughts of an 8-Year Old:  I definitely love Flea Circus!  It has cute cards and I try to pick cards carefully (think before I pick) to make sure the dogs and cats I'm inviting like the attractions.  I also try to put dog catchers down so the game lasts longer.  I love all of Flea Circus and hope we get more games by that creator that turn out to be just as good!  

Find Out More: You can find out more about Flea Circus and many other fun games on the R&R Games website.  Flea Circus sells for $15.95 (and is for ages 6 and up) but if you use the coupon code CREW20 you can get 20% off any purchase from their website from now through the end of the year!!!

R&R Games has a wide array of games for kids, families, parties, and those looking for a little more of a challenge in strategy.

My Crewmates are also reviewing Flea Circus, as well as Pig Pile, so you can check out what they think HERE.


Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own. 


Wordless Wednesday: Puzzle #1

Can you guess what this is?

(Answer on Thursday)

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

The Hour That Matters Most Book Review

Do you remember the hit TV show Leave it to Beaver?

June and Ward Cleaver were the proud parents of Wally and "Beaver." 

When I think back to many episodes, I can always recall them eating breakfast and lunch together in the kitchen, and dinners were attended by all family members in the dining room.

Dinners were a special time for all the family to come together

Fast forward to today and I think most families would say that they are lucky if all members of their family eat in the same room, let alone at the same time.  And if they are together, there are usually distractions, namely the TV, or some other type of electronic device, like the cell phone or iPod.

And I think we fall in that same category.  Two nights a week we are out until around 6pm with extracurricular activities and many nights hubby comes home late and my daughter and I have already eaten, so hubby has to eat solo.

That is why I was interested in a new book called The Hour that Matter Most.   

From the publisher:

Drs. Les and Leslie Parrott have discovered the surprising impact that something as simple as sharing a meal together can have on a  family. And they aren't alone. Researchers across the board are finding that an hour around the dinner table can really tether a family together and help you raise up healthier, happier kids.

Featuring the inspiring story of Stephanie Allen and Tina Kuna, the founders of Dream Dinners, The Hour That Matters Most shows you how to nourish and nurture your family through regular meal times.

An inspiring, practical book packed with everything you need to help you make the most of the dinnertime hour. The Hour That Matters Most includes:
  • Never before published recipes
  • Expert cooking tips and ideas
  • Color photos of family favorite meals
  • Dozens of conversation starters to get your kids talking around the table
My Thoughts:  I really enjoyed reading this book and have found practical advice on how to get our family to the dinner table more often.  Ideas I think I will implement include switching the room we eat in some nights (from the kitchen to the dining room), dressing up the dinner table with a tablecloth and placemats for fun on some nights, and using conversation starters. 

I don't think I'll be in the running for the next June Cleaver, but I think this book has some great ideas on how to get the family together and talking each day.

Find Out More:  You can find out more about The Hour that Matter Most at their website.  The book will be available in paperback in September but can be pre-ordered through Amazon.  You can also find a Family Dinnertime Toolkit on their website, which includes conversation starter coasters and placemats you can print out.

Stephanie Allen and Tina Kuna, co-authors with Drs. Les and Leslie Parrott, are also the founders of Dream Dinners.  Dream Dinners offers monthly menus, which include 14 different recipes each month, and provide everything you need to assemble dinners yourself.  I really wish we had a Dream Dinners location near us!

Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own. 

Monday, August 29, 2011

miscellany monday

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

warning:  this may be an extremely boring miscellany monday...and it's very miscellany.  sorry no pics. 
eating oatmeal with cinnamon and blueberries this morning.  yum!!
today school has to be done by around lunchtime so we can head to the store and then to our jr homemakers class today.  on the class agenda:  sewing kitchen towel holders, practicing crochet, and making muffins.  :)
have you ever tried chocolate trinity publix premium ice cream?  if not, you have to try it.  it is sooo good!! 
this weekend we mostly hung around the house and just relaxed.  we did get out to roam around and visited pier 1 imports.  it's been a while since i've been there.  we left empty handed but i seriously could have bought it all.  we are actually looking for a rug for our family room.  5'x8' of larger.  i found a pattern i liked at target but it was too small.  going for simple.  we've had these wood floors for over a year now and still can't find what we like. 
have my dr appt tomorrow morning to find out my test results...
hoping all the flooding from irene clears up quickly in the north east.
have my first review of the year for the crew this week.  very excited to get it posted.  i'll leave you in suspense as to what it is exactly and just say it is a fun game the family can play together.
this is a shout out to you!!

Friday, August 26, 2011

Weekly Wrap-Up: Third Grade #9

Last week we finished Unit 7 ~ More Colonies in the New World and this week we finished Unit 8 ~  King Philip Declares War on the Settlers in our Heart of Dakota book, Bigger Hearts for His Glory.

So today I want to show a few things that were worked on in science and history and then I'd like to highlight a few fun projects that we completed this week.


We learned how important the stars and night sky were to the explorers.


Plants were important to the settlers for food and medicines.

Wampum belts were worn by the Native Americans and were used as money


After learning how to sew a bandana shirt in her Jr. Homemakers Class, our daughter had to make one by herself at home.  (I'm hoping to post instructions stay tuned!)

Last time we were at the store we picked up some extra fabric and filling to make a pillow for her dolls as well.  She made the pillow below this evening.


This week we started up again with our Meet the Masters program.  The artist we learned about was Pablo Picasso and the style of Cubism.  The directions were to draw the image that was presented, cut it in four pieces (see the creases in the paper), then glue it back together incorrectly.  My daughter loved how her drawing came out and didn't want to cut it!  So here it is, not quite Cubism, but a nice drawing.  ;)

Today a friend opened her home so our kids could make robots together.  Ours is named Beep.

And if you missed my miscellany monday post, last week we went to an art class and they kids painted an owl.  Here's my daughter's.

So how was your week?  Thanks for joining Our Homeschool Reviews and for more Weekly Wrap-Up, this week I am linked up with Kris over at Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers.


Sunglass Warehouse Review and Giveaway

I wear sunglasses all the time!  In the car, anytime I go outdoors, and if I'm not outside, you will usually find the on my head (especially if I'm having a bad hair day). 

So since I wear my sunglasses daily, I can go through quite a bit.  They drop, get scratched, bent, and sooner or later I need a new pair. 

So to fill my need, I've found a great website called Sunglass Warehouse, where I can now shop for sunglasses and it's quick, easy, and best of all, affordable!  All their sunglasses are under $20 and have same day shipping! 

And they not only have a great selection of sunglasses for adults, they have a ton of sunglasses for kids priced from only $8.  For adults, they have a huge selection, but to make it easy you can narrow your search by type.  For instance, you can search oversized sunglasses, rockstar sunglasses, or polarized sunglasses. 

So why do I like Sunglass Warehouse? 

* They have FREE shipping over $25
* 100% money back guarantee and 365 day return policy
* UVA/UVB protection in all styles
* They are easy to work with

They have also recently launched The Sun Authority, where you can spend time choosing sunglasses based on your skin tones or choosing sunglasses for your face shape.  It also has tips on sun safety and skin care.

My Thoughts:  So after checking out their site, I ended up purchasing a pair of rhinestone sunglasses in black.  They are cute and fit my face well.  My old sunglasses are much bigger so it was nice to go with a smaller frame this time.  I like how the sparkly rhinestones give them a little bling but not too much.  They also have UV400 lenses.

Find Out More:  You can find out more and order your pair of sunglasses at Sunglass Warehouse.  You can also find them on Facebook, Twitter, or the Sunglass Warehouse Blog.


So, here's how to enter to win a $20 Gift Certificate to Sunglass Warehouse!  For each comment, you will get one (1) entry.

1.  Follow my blog using Google Friend Connect.

2.  Subscribe to my blog by email through Feedburner.

3.  Like my Facebook page.

4.  Follow me on Twitter @OurHSReviews.

5.  Like Sunglass Warehouse on Facebook.

**Remember to please leave a separate comment for each entry**

One random winner will be selected using on Friday, September 9, 2011.  (U.S. entries only)  If I am unable to reach the winner within 48 hours, an alternate winner will be selected.  Your entry is only valid if you include a way for me to contact you (either an email address in your comment or on your profile).

Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own. 


Thursday, August 25, 2011

Duct Tape Projects

A friend's daughter over at Schooling in the Sun has been really into making duct tape projects.  One day we were at a local activity together and her daughter, Turtle, brought some of her creations.  She had made some adorable duct tape bags for all the children there. 

Of course, the minute my daughter saw these, she was hooked.  Within the week we were at the store buying duct tape.  I didn't realize all the colors and patterns they come in.  Here's what we picked out.

So we searched YouTube and found a series of videos from Duck brand duct tape on how to make duct tape wallets, purses, flowersflip flops, belts, ties, and more.  You can click on any of those links to see the videos or you can visit the Duck brand website where you can learn more.

Here are some of my daughter's creations

I think these are some great and easy projects to work on.  My daughter is 8 and I did have to help.  It will be hard for younger children to rip the tape off the roll, unless you use scissors, and if you do, don't use a good pair because they will get all sticky.  Also, remember that once you stick two sticky sides of tape together, you are not going to get them take your time.  :)

If you end up making some projects, please come back and let me know.  We would love to see them!

Thrifty Thursday

Happy Thrifty Thursday!  Below are the deals for today.  If you find something I've missed, please leave a comment below!  I would love to hear from you!  

Homeschool Freebie of the Day
Today's freebie includes some great Buggy Resources.  Make sure you look around for past freebies while you are there. 

Freely Educate 80% Off
Remember to check out FreelyEducate for some great freebies!

FREE Chick-fil-A Breakfast  From 9/6 – 9/10, participating Chick-fil-A restaurants are giving away a variety of FREE breakfast entrees.  To make your reservation, visit this website beginning 8/29.

FREE Whole Wheat Baking E-Book
Get a FREE copy of the Gold Medal Whole Wheat Baking Cookbook

FREE Typing Instructor Game After Rebate
This week at Office Depot you can purchase Typing Instructor for Kids Platinum and then submit this product mail in rebate to get it FREE.  Purchase must be made between 8/21-9/3.

Party City: 75% Off Summer Clearance Sale and FREE Shipping!
Through 9/3, PartyCity is having a Summer Clearance Sale and offering 75% off select summer items.  TODAY, 8/25 ONLY, they are offering FREE shipping on ANY order (no minimum) when you use code PCLSC4.

Old Navy 30% Off Coupon
Visit Old Navy on Facebook and print a coupon good for 30% off your entire purchase from 8/25-8/28. 80% Off
Save 80% at using code TASTY at checkout.  This makes a $25 gift card only $2!  Ends 8/31.

FREE Sample Roundup
For anything I missed, you can get your FREE sample roundup from Deal Seeking Mom!

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Wordless Wednesday: Where's Maisy?

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Paws & Tales Review

My daughter was extremely excited when she received a new DVD in the mail called Paws & Tales: Putting Others First.

This particular DVD is the 4th in the series and is based on Matthew 22:39 and Philippians 2:3 and includes two episodes that teach kids about putting others first.

Paws & Tales is designed for children between the ages of 4 to 8 and is safe entertainment with faith-based values that parents can trust.

After watching the two episodes with my daughter, I asked her to write down what she thought.  Below is her review.
A Race against Time

On their way to a bakery sale, C.J. and Staci find an injured skunk that slows them down. They pass the opportunity to help him, but the bake sale was all eaten when they got there. The next day, Paw Paw Chuck gives them a list of things to do for him. Millions of obstacles stand in their way. Just when they looked like they were going to make it in time, that injured skunk was in their path - will they stop to help, even though they won’t make it to the last destination?

I like the anticipation of seeing if they get to do their chores on time and the happy ending. I also like the song. (When your neighbor is in need)

The Hire Principle

Tiffany makes all kids whose parents work for her father her personal slave. She, it seems, can fire any adult who works for Mr. Rockler. C.J. needs to stop this! But wait - what’s this? C.J.’s dad works for Mr. Rockler now! How can C.J. get out of carrying her pink bag - and still let his father keep his dream job?

I like when Tiffany calls her driver Freedrick instead of Fredrick. I also like the song. (Me, Myself, and I)   

My ThoughtsI really enjoyed A Race Against Time and thought that the message and story were wonderful.  With The Hire Principle, I just didn't think we could relate to the story as much and my daughter was a little confused about why Tiffany was being so mean.  I wish someone would have talked to Tiffany at the end and discussed her actions. 

Overall the characters and message were great and we both agreed that we would like to watch more episodes. 

Find Out More:  You can find out more about Paws & Tales: Putting Others First, as well as the other DVDs in the series at Tyndale House PublishersPaws & Tales: Putting Others First will be available in September 2011.

Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free by Tyndale House Publishers for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own. 

Not Back To School Blog Hop {Day in the Life}

Not Back to School Blog Hop

This is the final week of Heart of the Matter's Not Back to School Blog Hop and yesterday started a Day in the Life Week.

I'm not sure how helpful this will be to anyone since everyday seems to be different, but here is our schedule for the most part:

6:30 - This is about the time I get up, sometimes earlier and sometimes later.  I spend this early morning time by cleaning my room, straightening around the house, and getting online to check email, etc.

7:00 to 7:30 - This is around the time my daughter has been waking up lately.  She HAS to eat first thing after she wakes up so it is straight to the kitchen for breakfast for both of us.  Breakfast is usually cereal or pancakes/waffles for her.

7:30 to 9:00 - Ideally by 9am I would like breakfast to be complete, her bed to be made, and all her morning chores done, including getting dressed.  Yesterday though, I saw the opportunity to start school happily at 8:30 and that is what we did, in our pjs.  ;) 

9:00 to 1:00 - My goal this year is to have school started by 9:00 and finished by 1:00 (including lunch).  We've already accomplished that many times this year and it makes for much happier afternoons!!  Of course there are days when we have something going on in the morning, and we'll just have to adjust for that.  I also still have two subjects I have not yet added in this year, so on the days that we do those, school may last a little longer.

3:30 to 5:30/6:00 - On Tuesdays and Thursdays we have dance class in the afternoons during these times so we are at the studio.

As scheduled as our mornings seem, our afternoons pretty much change from day to day.  Sometimes we see grandparents and sometimes friends. 

6:00 to 7:00 - We usually have dinner sometime within this hour of time. 

7:00 to 8:30 - A shower happens sometime after dinner.

8:30 to 9:30 - We all just hang out together.

9:30 - Bedtime.  I know it seems late but every time we try to make it earlier, it always finds it way back to the same time.  I guess it works. 

11:00 - Bedtime for all adults.  :)

So that is a Day in Our Life.  Pretty exciting, huh?!  ;)


Monday, August 22, 2011

miscellany monday

Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

today we have a full day at home with no interruptions.  i am so happy that we don't have to rush off to anything.  the goal this morning is to get all school work completed by 1pm.  if that is accomplished, we'll have time for a few fun projects and games. 

on friday we took another trip with friends to a painting class.  they painted an owl.  isn't he cute?!

tomorrow i'm having some routine blood work done.  it's probably been at least 10 years since i had any tests (cholesterol, etc) so i thought it was about time.  i have to remember to not eat anything tomorrow morning...i'm hungry just thinking about it.  ;)  i may just have to post a sign on the fridge to!

lots of cleaning to do today...

i'm getting hungry and wondering what i should have for lunch.  lean cuisine?  salad?  both?  decisions, decisions.

oh, and i forgot to add that since my daughter is taking a homemakers class, i am learning how to crochet (she is  i'll post my first project once it is done.  :)


And the Lysol Winner Is...

Comment #30: LB you on facebook = lori

I used to pick the winner and I have already notified her via email.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the Lysol Giveaway via Our Homeschool Reviews and thanks again to Lysol and MomSelect for allowing me to offer this great product!


Friday, August 19, 2011

TOS Crew Blog Hop

Crew Blog Hop

This is my second year on The Old Schoolhouse (TOS) Crew and I'm happy to announce that this year we will be doing a TOS Crew Blog Hop!  But the best news is that this Blog Hop is not just limited to Crew members.  If you are a homeschooler and have a blog and you would like to join in, you can link up too.

Here are the guidelines:

1. Grab the Blog Hop button and spread the word.

2. Please follow the wonderful hosts – Glimpse of Our Life, Our Homeschool Studio, and Our Villiage is a Little Different via Google Friend Connect.

3. Please do not link up your giveaways, blog hops, etc. (These will be deleted.)

Link up your blog, visit and follow the blogs that interest you and have fun getting to know the 2011-2012 TOS Crew as well as the other participating homeschoolers. If you follow our blogs and leave a comment, we will always follow you back!

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Thrifty Thursday

Happy Thrifty Thursday!  Below are the deals for today.  If you find something I've missed, please leave a comment below!  I would love to hear from you!  

Homeschool Freebie of the Day
Today's freebie is The First Book of Stones.  Make sure you look around for past freebies while you are there. 

Walgreens Photo: FREE 8x10 Collage
Walgreens is offering a FREE 8×10 Collage Print. Just go here and use coupon code PRINTONE. Choose in-store pick up. Expires 8/20.

FREE Chick-fil-A Breakfast
From 9/6 – 9/10, participating Chick-fil-A restaurants are giving away a variety of FREE breakfast entrĂ©es.  To make your reservation, visit this website beginning 8/29.

Bealls Florida $5 Coupon
If you live in an area with a Bealls Florida Store, you can go here to print a coupon good for $5 off your next in-store purchase, valid through 8/20.

Breathe Right Advanced FREE Sample
Go here to get a FREE Breathe Right Advanced sample.

FREE Sample RoundupFor anything I missed, you can get your FREE sample roundup from Deal Seeking Mom!

Thermal Laminator: $20 Shipped {HURRY}

Deal has expired but was good while it lasted.  Hope you were able to get one.

{Now if you click on the link below you can get the Scotch Thermal Laminating Pouches for only $6.99!}

Amazon has the Scotch Thermal Laminator as a Lightning Deal TODAY ONLY, and only for about another hour, for only $20 shipped!!  This is an amazing deal and this laminator has great reviews!