Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Organic Produce Co-op


We've been participating in a local organic co-op and this is our bag for the week.  Lots of yummy fruit and vegetable goodness!



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Menu Plan...Tuesday


I've been a little behind in posting my menu plans. Really though, we've been in a rut and I've been making the same meals for the past few weeks, so it's not too exciting.

Just so I have it documented, here's our meals for this week:

* Grilled Portobello Mushroom and Corn on the Cob
* Rice Noodles and Vegetable Stir Fry
* Brown Rice and Black Bean Enchiladas {enough for two nights}
* Baked Potatoes with Broccoli
* Spaghetti and Salad {with some sort of bread}

I don't even have any pictures...sad I know!

As far as the plant based {vegan} eating goes, I've mostly stuck with it. Definitely no meat or fish but my sweet tooth has gotten me in trouble a few times. Trying my best.  ;)



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Monday, April 28, 2014

The Brinkman Adventures Review

I am in the car quite a bit taking Funny Bunny back and forth to activities in the afternoons.  We usually pass the time by listening to the radio or music CDs.  Sometimes the CDs are played a little too frequently, if you know what I mean.  I'm always looking for something new and fresh to listen to.  So when I heard about The Brinkman Adventures, I was very interested!  We received The Brinkman Adventures Season 2: Episodes 13-24 to review and I was more than happy to add it to our car play list!

The Brinkman Adventures are stories from the lives of real missionaries, come to life through their many crazy adventures.  

Brinkman Adventures ReviewReview by Funny Bunny

The Brinkman Adventures is an action-packed, family friendly audio CD pack. The stories are real, the adventures are exciting, and the intensity will keep you on the edge of your seat. Unless you're in the car. Then you'd just better hold on to your seat belt, because it's gonna be a wild, funny, and Biblical ride through the Brinkman family adventures! There's 12 exciting adventures and 5 hours of fun in this CD pack. Here are a few of the stories.

The Mystery Ring: One of the Brinkman boys finds a gold class ring while diving and doesn't know whose it is. He and his brother decide to sell it to earn money to buy expensive curriculum to donate. As the auction runs, they discover that the ring's owner is John Benti, former missionary in Hong Kong. Can they call off the auction and get the ring to Mr. Benti before the auction closes?

Blue Hat & T-Shirt Bible: The Brinkmans are staying with the Bentis before they go to Mexico. While they're there, Mr. Benti tells them a story about his mission work in Hong Kong. He and his partner are trying to find at least one Christian in Hong Kong, and it isn't easy. Their only chance is to go to Guilin, but their flight is cancelled by the storms. Desperate, they attempt to find a place on a booked train, when a mysterious Chinese woman with a blue hat and an English accent helps them. Once there, they offer a young girl some perfume in return for a Christian. She leads them to a Christian woman, whom is strong in faith and wants more then anything a Bible. But the police burn every Bible they find. How can they manage a Bible for the woman with little time left?

How Big is Your God: Mr. Benti tells the Brinkmans another story from his mission work. While he was an assistant helper, and had to do what the head missionaries said, John Benti and his missionary team needed a building to plant a church in. Everywhere they look, nobody wants missionaries to use their buildings for a church. All seems hopeless, until Mr. Benti hears about a kindergarten building in need of a school program and teacher. Mr. Benti says that he thinks that would be perfect, especially as the current owner is a Christian, but they don't have the money and the head missionaries are not willing to take that risk. Mr. Benti is still convinced that God will provide the money if they just sign the paper. A little later when Mr. Benti is head missionary, he heads straight back to the kindergarten to buy the building, though they still don't have the money. Will a miracle happen to let them buy the kindergarten? Will Mr. Benti be able to realize how big his God really is?

And there are many more exciting adventures in The Brinkman Adventures Season 2!

Funny Bunny's Favorite Story: Blue Hat & T-Shirt Bible

My Thoughts:  I think The Brinkman Adventures are wonderfully exciting stories for families of all ages. The episodes span the globe and give the listener a glimpse of the real life adventures of a missionary family. These episodes have sparked conversations between Funny Bunny and I about missionaries, life in other countries, and ways we can spread the Gospel ourselves.

Find Out More:  You can find out more online at The Brinkman Adventures. The Brinkman Adventures Season 2: Episodes 13-24 includes 4 CDs, 12 episodes, and over five hours of audio.  These are stories for all ages.

The suggested donation for the physical CD set is $25 and $17 for the MP3 Album.  Shipping is free.  If you can't afford the suggested price or want to donate more, there is a separate ordering button.  They do not want money to stand in the way of families being able to download this set.

You can also find Brinkman Adventures on Facebook.

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, April 24, 2014

CTC Math Review

CTC Math Review

You may have heard me say that I'm always on the search for a good math program.  Well, I always am...and I know many of my readers are too!

Today I want to tell you about CTC Math.  I had actually read several posts about this math program before I  knew I would be able to review it. So I was happy to receive and review their 12 Month Family Plan.

CTC Math is really very simple and straightforward to use.  Once purchased, you activate your account by logging into the Parents' Area and setting up an account for each child. After you have added your students, they can log in by accessing the Student Login.

Once logged in, your child will see a screen like the one below.


You can see all the Courses are listed on the left.  I have 5th grade highlighted and in the center you can see the Stream.  The Stream is the same for 1st-6th grades.  I have Measurement highlighted and you can see the different topics listed to the right.  Once a Topic is selected, you can view all the lessons.  


Above you can see I selected the Topic: Units of Measure.  This topic has 7 lessons and none are completed so the bars to the right are empty.

When a lesson is selected, a short video pops up.  Most of the video lessons are between 4 to 9 minutes long {you can see the one below on Short Division is just 2 minutes and 33 seconds}. They can be paused, sped up, slowed down, or repeated.  You can even select the Lesson Summary and print out the lesson to review again.


Once the lesson is watched and understood, the child moves on to answering the questions.  Results for each question are immediate and they can correct their mistake right away.


Now let's take a look at the Stream for Number, Patterns, and Algebra.  You can see the topics to the right have changed and Funny Bunny has been working on these.


She's completed one lesson in Division, four lessons in Number II, and finished all the lessons in Fractions. She's also taken the Comprehension Tests for the first three topics: Number I, Addition and Subtraction, and Multiplication. She passed all three tests so I did not make her do any lessons since she proved she knew the material.  You can tell she took one test for each of those three topics by the little 1 to the right.


Above is a screen shot of the Topic: Number II.  You can see what it looks like when a child is working through the lessons.

Children work toward math certificates for successful completion of a topic. Platinum for a perfect score, Gold for the next level, and so on.  You can see above that Funny Bunny missed one question on Factors so she's now working on a Gold Level.  

Children in K-6 can re-take tests and get the average of their last three scores to possibly move back up to the next level.  For the levels above 6th, it averages all the scores, but their first one or two are weighted more heavily than the later ones.

They can also see their Award and Reports by clicking the icon in the lower left corner. Below you can see she has received a Gold Level Certificate for Fractions and she's taken three tests on the topics at the bottom.  You can also click to see more detailed reports.  


Parents are emailed a Weekly Report and can also log into the Parents' Area. There they can see all their students, results, more reports and certificates, and view their online activity.

CTC Math Review

The Details:

* 1400+ animated and narrated math lessons
* Over 57,000 interactive questions
* Diagnostic tests
* Instant feedback and reporting
* Learn at your own pace
* 24/7 access

Here's a great video explaining how it all works


My Thoughts:  I've tried many online math programs so I wasn't sure how I would feel about this one. I was pleasantly surprised!  I like how the lessons are short and to the point.  The site is easy to navigate and understand.  I also feel like it could be used as the sole math program or as a supplement, which is how we are currently using it right now.  We have a few more weeks in our current math program though, so Funny Bunny will be working solely in CTC Math over the summer.

Find Out More: You can find out more online at CTC Math.  Their 12 Month Family Plan, which is for two or more students in K-12, is just $118.80! That's an awesome deal for math for the entire family!!  But $118.80 is their special sale price for homeschoolers, down from $297, so you may want to check it out now.  They also offer single student plans, monthly plans, and 6 months plans.

You can also find CTC Math on Facebook {for U.S.} and Facebook for {AUS}. 

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer


Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox! 

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Maisy on Easter





Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Sojos Review


I've been feeding my dog, Maisy, the same dog food for 9 1/2 years now. She likes it, she likes anything really, and she gobbles it up as quick as she can {you'd think we were starving her}.

But for the past couple years I've wondered if what she is eating is really healthy.  I mean, I picked what I thought was the best choice of dog food. It's a popular brand and seems to be more healthy than some of the others. But is it really?

Maisy about 6 weeks old

I recently heard of Sojos. Sojos is a family-owned company that's been making wholesome, all-natural pet food and treats since 1985. They make several lines of raw pet food and all natural treats that are made in the USA with healthy grain-free (gluten-free) ingredients. 

I first heard of them when we reviewed their Peanut Butter and Honey Dog Treats. Maisy loved them of course. They are wheat and corn-free, made with no artificial preservatives, flavors or colors, and made with natural, human-quality ingredients. 

Last month we received some of their raw dog food.  They offer several varieties:

Turkey or Beef Complete Dog Food
A wholesome grain-free and gluten-free dog food that you simply combine with water.

Grain Free Dog Food Mix
Combine with water and your own source of meat to create a grain-free and gluten-free meal.

Original Dog Food Mix
Combine with your own source of meat and veggies to create your own fresh, homemade pet food.

I like the idea of the complete dog food where I don't have to add any meat to it, so I started with Sojos Beef Complete Dog Food.  



Since you have to introduce new dog food a little at a time, we decided to give it to her as a treat.

It's made with freeze-dried raw beef and other all-natural ingredients, so one pound rehydrates to four pounds of fresh, raw food.  This was a new concept for me, so I had to do a little research on their website, but it was simple.

Before adding water.  You can actually see all the meat, veggies, and seasonings.  No kibble here.

After adding water.  We gave her a little at a time and she loved it and gobbled it up!

Take a look at the ingredients in the Beef Complete - USDA beef, sweet potato, celery, carrots, cabbage, whole egg, flax meal, tricalcium phosphate, cranberries, papaya, pumpkin, rosemary, parsley, ginger root, dried alfalfa, dried kelp, zinc sulfate, vitamin E acetate, vitamin D3, vitamin A palmitate.

Sounds like something I would make for myself!!

And if you've never used a dog food quite like this, they have easy to understand feeding instructions or check out their FAQs on their website.


Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Sojos.  A 2lb bag of the complete dog food is $26.40. That will rehydrate to 8lbs.  And they offer FREE shipping on all pet food orders!  They also include a list of online retailers for you to shop at your convenience.



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Thrifty Thursday


Here are some of the thrifty deals for today!

FREE Preparing Little Hearts for Resurrection Sunday Printable @ The Road to 31

FREE Easter Lapbook for Little Ones @ Notebooking Nook


FREE Easter Egg PreK/K Pack @ The Reading Mama


FREE Spring Inspired Wall Art @ Happy & Blessed Home


FREE Activities and Downloads @ What's in the Bible

FREE Easter Journal & Activity Book @  Upside Down Homeschooling


FREE Nature Study Notebooking Set @ Homeschool Giveaways & Freebies

FREE Easter Story Eggs Printable @ Motherhood on a Dime


FREE Phonics Printable @ the measured mom


FREE Cloud Basics Speedy Lapbook @ CurrClick


FREE Easter Activities and Lapbook @ Confessions of a Homeschooler

FREE Printable Butterfly Notecards @ Homeschooling Hearts and Minds

I hope you enjoy some of these FREEBIES! If you know of any others, please leave a comment below. 




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Wordless Wednesday


The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them;
he delivers them from all their troubles.
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted
and saves those who are crushed in spirit. 
Psalm 34: 17-18



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Curiosity Quest Review

Curiosity Quest Review

Sometimes the best learning moments come from where you would least expect them.  Funny Bunny and I received two products to review from Curiosity Quest.  Curiosity Quest is educational programing that delves into the topics viewers like you and me want to know more about. 

We received the DVD Combo Pack - Produce and the DVD Combo Pack - Swimmers of the Sea.

{I want to mention that much of this review was written by Funny Bunny since she has a much better memory than me.  Sometimes our writing is very similar in style, but other times it is not.  I hope you enjoy what she has to say.}

Of course Funny Bunny loves animals so she asked to watch Swimmers of the Sea first.  It includes three episodes about Penguins, Alaskan Salmon, and Sea Turtles.

Curiosity Quest Review

Turtle Rescue

Host Joel Greene and the crew visit the Sea Turtle hospital in Marathon, Florida where the staff rescues, rehabs, and releases sea turtles.

We learned different ways turtles are harmed, an example of which is by swallowing plastic bags. We also watched as the turtles were fed and even saw the turtle eggs in the hatchery!

We learned some interesting things, such as a turtle comes back to the same beach she was born on to lay her eggs. That's one reason we need to preserve our beaches, so the sea turtles can thrive for many more years to come!   

In Turtle Rescue, there was a little bit about evolution, but it did not spoil the episode for us, and it was still very interesting!

Penguins

They visit Monterrey Bay Aquarium to talk all about the life of a penguin. 

Curiosity Quest Review

In this video, we learned that penguins don't need super cold climates to live in, which would be surprising to most people like us, who are use to picturing penguins in the icy Arctic.

We learned a lot of cool things about penguins. When they swim, predators under the sea (and prey) have a hard time seeing them because of their white bellies matching icebergs from an underwater view, and flying predators would not notice it because its black back blends in with the stormy-looking water around it. Cool!

There were plenty of other fun facts about penguins, and they were countless. We learned a lot about them.

I like the penguins' waddle best.

Salmon Hatchery

They visit Alaska to learn about salmon.  Now you would think that learning about salmon would be a little boring, but we learned so many new things, it was really interesting.

Imagine salmon splashing upstream in a river. Hundreds. No, maybe thousands! 

What are they doing? Where did they come from?

In Alaska, we learn about salmon. About the time of year the video was shot, they all were heading to the hatchery to lay their eggs. They go through the river (yes, Joel, the water is cold), then on to what looks like a "salmon highway", and into the hatchery. There they lay their eggs.

Once the baby salmon are of age, they will go under little floating docks - floating docks with netting on each underside, keeping the fish in. Soon they will be let go to the ocean, and the cycle continues!

Next we popped in the DVD Combo Pack - Produce.  it also includes three episodes about Mushrooms, Orange Packing, and Cranberries.

Curiosity Quest Review

Mushrooms

Joel Greene and the crew travel to the Monterrey Mushrooms facility and learn all about how mushrooms are grown.  I thought this episode was especially interesting because most of it was actually focused on the dirt the mushrooms are grown in.

What is the first step in growing mushrooms? That's the first question Joel asks, and the answer in completely unexpected.

Dirt? Seeds? Just finding the mushrooms? Those might be some guesses.

How about hay?

Yes, hay. Mushrooms are grown on hay.

Yes, I know.

It turns out that the hay bales must be fluffed, turned, broken apart, mushed, and decomposed. And then after that what happens?

They do it again.

You already are learning something new after like, what, five minutes of the video?

This was a great video, and we did learn a lot more stuff then just hay. We learned about growing, harvesting, incubating (yes, incubating a mushroom), sizing, packaging, and shipping. Whew! That is a very, very action-packed DVD!

Orange Picking

They visit orange groves and learn how they are grown, sorted, packaged, and shipped.

In this DVD, we obviously learned about oranges. But there was so much in this video that we never knew about them!

We are shown the best climate for orange-growing, the best way to orange-pick, and how to tell if the oranges are ripe. Then we are taken inside the building.

The oranges are put through a series of tests, each one narrowing the group down until only the ones fit for store are remaining. These are packages and sent over the country.

What happens to the other oranges that didn't make it? Well, if they're moldy or bad, then they may get fed to farm animals. If they are okay to eat, but aren't big enough, not the right color, or just not good enough to be sold in the market, these will be used to make juice.

Wow, we sure learned a lot about oranges in this video!

Cranberries

The crew visits a cranberry bog in Wisconsin.  This was another of our favorites and we actually watched it twice.  I never knew why cranberries were sitting in water to be harvested or how they even got there.  Do you?

Curiosity Quest Review

One of the main questions to this episode was, "Why in the commercials are the men standing in a lake of cranberries?" In this video, we'll learn that and so much more.

As they walked into the pit of cranberries, Joel asked just that. The answer was that they're so much easier to harvest when they're floating. Cranberries are buoyant, meaning that they are light and hollow, so they float. Machines drive through and harvest the floating cranberries. 

You may have noticed that some of the cranberries are green, not the reddish purple we all recognize. Is the answer that they are not ripe yet? Are they not ready? No. They just, as our guide says, "decided to live the rest of their life green." Green ones are usually sweeter then the red ones (except for the one Joel tried), though they are not generally sold in stores.

Inside, the cranberries undergo a series of tests much similar to the oranges. One of the tests is the "bounce test", determining whether or not the cranberry bounces high enough to be sold. A cranberry usually gets eight chances to prove itself.

We learned so much about cranberries, it was cool to figure out why the men do stand in a lake of cranberries.    

My Thoughts:  Host Joel Greene keeps each episode lively and entertaining.  He's quite a character and asks a lot of questions. He's also very hands on, which is great to watch.  Throughout each episode, there are clips where he asks kids questions about the topic and I think Funny Bunny really liked listening to their answers.  Also, at the end of each video they ask what we are curious about and encourage viewers to send in show ideas, which Funny Bunny has asked to do.

Thoughts of a 10-Year Old:  I really liked these DVDs, because they taught me a lot more about things I thought I already knew about (like turtles) and things that I wasn't quite as familiar with (like mushrooms).

If I had to pick a favorite video, I wouldn't know what to say. And that's pretty rare for me, as I'd usually pick a DVD with animals in it!

I think that the Curiosity Quest videos have really helped me think about things (especially the mushrooms) differently. For instance, who knew that mushrooms started with...hay! Who'd think?

Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Curiosity Quest.  The DVD Combo Pack - Produce and the DVD Combo Pack - Swimmers of the Sea are both $24.95 each.  These videos are geared towards children ages 7-14.  There are many other episodes available, including subjects such as food, animals, sports, and instruments. Each episode is 30 minutes and shares interesting and relatively unknown facts that your whole curious family will enjoy learning about.  Curiosity Quest is also available on many local PBS channels airing over 100 episodes.

You can also find Curiosity Quest on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Friday, April 11, 2014

Free and Frugal Homeschooling: Tips {Giveaway}

April Blog Hop

Welcome to the last day of my 5 Days of Free and Frugal Homeschooling!!  I hope you have enjoyed this series.

Today I'm going to be sharing some FREE and FRUGAL Homeschooling Tips!

If you missed it, here are the first four days along with their GIVEAWAYS, which at the time of this post, are still all open, so go and enter!!

Day 1 - Curriculum Plans and a Giveaway
Day 2 - Books and a Giveaway 
Day 3 - Printables and Planners and a Giveaway
Day 4 - Educational Online Games and a Giveaway

So here are a few Tips on Homeschooling FREE and Frugal:

Use the Library - If you have a well stocked public library nearby, this is a cheap way to find all those books on your reading list.  Also, take advantage of their inter-library loan system.

Buy Used, Swap, or Borrow - Buy, swap, or borrow from friends or shop your local used curriculum sale if you have one. 

Shop Sales - Buy school supplies when everything is on sale, and during the tax-free weekend if your state offers it.

Shop Online - I have found that if I can't find something used, I may be able to find it cheaper on Amazon or Books-A-Million.  Both offer free shipping if you buy over $25 and Books-A-Million and Barnes & Noble both have a 20% off educators discount for teachers. You just have to sign up for the card and then register the card number to your account.

Join a Co-op - Co-ops offer support and ideas that you would not have available otherwise.

Hand Down and/or Combine Kids- We only have one child so we sell things after we use them, unless they would be a good resource for the future or they were consumable.  But for bigger families, hand down books and curriculum to younger siblings or if they are close in age, combine their work.

Search FREE Sites - If I can find a free online site that has games, resources, or materials, I will try and incorporate it into our schedule. I try not to use too many, but they break up our day for time to time.

Netflix - Last year we decided to cancel our Direct TV and get only our local channels and Netflix. We LOVE Netflix!! There are many educational movies on there and you could probably find something to go along with any topic you are learning.

Amazon Prime - We don't have Amazon Prime at the moment but I've thought of getting it for the instant streaming of movies and TV episodes. Plus, there are over 350,000 Kindle titles to borrow for free. Still something we are thinking about.

Here are a few links to sites that help make Homeschooling FREE and Frugal

Homeschool Classifieds
Homeschool Buyers Co-op
Vegsource 
The Well-Trained Mind
FreeCycle
Ebay
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

The last of some great sites that offer free printables and more

Freely Educate
The Old Schoolhouse Magazine


GIVEAWAY #5

In keeping with the Free and Frugal Homeschooling theme, I'll be giving away some of my favorite homeschool products this week!!

Today you can enter to win a Six Month Membership to Reading Eggs AND An Autographed Copy of A Cry From Egypt!!

a Rafflecopter giveawayBefore you leave though, see what over 60 other bloggers at The Schoolhouse Review Crew have had to say, or start with these eight blogs below!

Anne Marie @ Future.Flying.Saucers ~ Christian Worldview 101
Marya @ Suncoast Momma ~ Homeschooling Special Needs
Kym @ Homeschool Coffee Break ~ Ordinary Homeschooling
Lisa @ Farm Fresh Adventures ~ Our Favorite Family Recipes
Dawn @ Double O Farms ~  Helping Your Struggling Learner
Gena @ I Choose Joy! ~ Homeschooling Middle School
Monique @ Living Life and Learning ~ Homeschooling with Lapbooks
DaLynn @ For the Display of His Splendor ~ Diagramming the Proverbs


Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Free and Frugal Homeschooling: Educational Online Games {Giveaway}

April Blog Hop

Welcome to Day 4 of my 5 Days of Free and Frugal Homeschooling!! Today I'm going to be sharing links for FREE Educational Online Games!

If you missed it, here's

Day 1 - Curriculum Plans and a Giveaway
Day 2 - Books and a Giveaway 
Day 3 - Printables and Planners and a Giveaway

There are plenty of online games out there, but it can be hard choosing between those that are educational and those that are time wasters.  Here are a few of my favorites.

Starfall
Learning Games for Kids
Sheppard Software
Dance Mat Typing
Fun Brain
Toy Theater
Edheads
Headventure Land
Try Science
Dig It Up

A few great blogs with free printables {will feature more throughout the week} 

Homeschooling Hearts & Minds
Dad's Worksheets
In All You Do

GIVEAWAY #4

In keeping with the Free and Frugal Homeschooling theme, I'll be giving away some of my favorite homeschool products this week!!


Today you can enter to win a One Year Subscription to Talking Fingers: Read, Write, and Type AND One Download at A Journey Through Learning Lapbooks!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway Before you leave though, see what over 60 other bloggers at The Schoolhouse Review Crew have had to say, or start with these eight blogs below!

Anne Marie @ Future.Flying.Saucers ~ Christian Worldview 101
Marya @ Suncoast Momma ~ Homeschooling Special Needs
Kym @ Homeschool Coffee Break ~ Ordinary Homeschooling
Lisa @ Farm Fresh Adventures ~ Our Favorite Family Recipes
Dawn @ Double O Farms ~  Helping Your Struggling Learner
Gena @ I Choose Joy! ~ Homeschooling Middle School
Monique @ Living Life and Learning ~ Homeschooling with Lapbooks
DaLynn @ For the Display of His Splendor ~ Diagramming the Proverbs



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Vegan Cuts Review


Last month I was contacted by Vegan Cuts and asked if I would like to review their March Snack Box.  If you've been reading my blog for the past couple months, you know that I started eating a plant based diet, so I was excited to try it out!

Each month Vegan Cuts sends out their Snack Boxes straight to your home.  You never know exactly what will be included, but they will always contain 7-10 vegan goodies, most of which are gluten free.  They are 100% vegan, meaning no animal products of any nature including honey.

Below is my March Snack Box


Loved it
Ocho Candy Organic Coconut Bar
R.W. Garcia Salt & Vinegar Tortatos
Vigilant Eats Superfood Cereal
Earnest Eats Trail Mix Bar

 Our hands down favorite, just wish it was a bigger sample!

I'm not the biggest Salt & Vinegar fan but the flavor was not overpowering.  
We all loved these!

Pretty Good
Oogave Loca Diet Root Beer Soda
Explore Asian Soybean Noodle Soup


Eh
Deeply Rooted Roots Drink Powder
Garden of Life RAW Protein Powder

I don't really like protein powders so I wasn't too excited to see them in my box.  I really wish I had more snacky foods included but I know every month is different.

My Thoughts:  Overall I love the idea of getting a box full of different vegan goodies each month.  It was fun to try and find out about new vegan snack foods.  I had never heard of any of the products included in my box before I received it.  I'm now wondering, of course, what April's box will include. :)

I do wish there were more snack foods included though.  My box had 9 items from 8 different companies, 3 of which were protein powders.  Also, when I added the value of the items in my box, I came under the $19.95 price tag by at least a few dollars.  Shipping is always free though, so that's a plus!

Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Vegan CutsSnack Boxes are $19.95 a month with free shipping.  Vegan Cuts also offers a Beauty Box for $19.95 a month as well. 




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/