Monday, June 30, 2014

Homeschooling for FREE!


If you feel like money is keeping you from homeschooling, you'll be happy to know that there are plenty of ways to homeschool for FREE!!  Below are just a few!

FREE Complete Curriculum - 
Ambleside Online 
An Old Fashioned Education 
Khan Academy 
Simply Charlotte Mason 
Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool 
Mater Amabilis 
Open Education Source 
Hippo Campus 
Raising Sweet Blessings 

FREE Online Books -
Project Gutenberg
The Baldwin Online Children's Literature Project
Children's Books Online
Children's Storybooks Online 
Bibliomania
Amazon Classic Literature & Fiction Freebies


FREE Audio Books -
LibriVox 
Free Classic Audio Books 
Books Should Be Free
Storynory 
Librophile
Lit2Go
Open Culture 


FREE Printables -
Donna Young- free printables, planners, and more 
Homeschool Share - free literature-based unit studies and resources 
A Journey Through Learning - Free lapbook section
In the Hands of a Child - Free lapbooks and notebooking unit studies section
CurrClick - Free ebooks section
Teachers Pay Teachers - Free section
Lapbook Lessons -  Free lapbooks
Homeschool Freebie of the Day -  A new freebie each day
NotebookingPages.com - Free notebooking pages and resources
Notebooking Nook - Freebies by subject


FREE Online Planners and Forms -
Donna Young 
New Bee Homeschooler
The Peaceful Mom 
Living Well Spending Less
My Mardel Homeschool
Peace Creek on the Prairie
The Homeschool Mom
Highland Heritage
Notebooking Nook


FREE Educational Games - 
Dig It Up

I know this is just a small sampling of what's available online for free, but I do hope that you've found this list helpful.  

See more ideas at the Homeschool for Free Round-Up!




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Friday, June 27, 2014

Freebie Friday!


Here are the Freebie Friday deals for today!

FREE Proofreading Checklist @ Brookdale House

FREE Printable State Geography Cards @ Homeschool Giveaways & Freebies

FREE 4th of July Unit Studies & Printables @ Homeschool Giveaways & Freebies

FREE My Book Journey Notebooking Journal @ Thinking Kids

FREE Butterflies Unit Study @ CurrClick

FREE Lego Gameboard Printable @ Homeschooling on a Dime

14 FREE Printables for Summer Learning @ This Reading Mama

FREE 4th of July Book for Children @ Happy & Blessed Home




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Go Science DVD Review

Go Science Review

If you have never visited Library & Educational Services you just have to!  LES is a wholesale supplier of wholesome educational materials, which serves educators, librarians, and church leaders of children's ministries.  It's free to register for an account, and once you do, you can save from 30% to 70% of regular prices.  

One of the many products they carry is the creation based Go Science DVDs Series 2 set.

Go Science Review

There are 7 DVDs in the complete set, which include:

Volume 1: Sound, Gravity, Space
Volume 2: Life Science, Weather
Volume 3: Air
Volume 4: Motion, Friction, Electricity, Light
Volume 5: States of Matter, Water
Volume 6: Chemistry
Volume 7: Engineering, Design, Flight

All seven of the DVDs are taught by Ben Roy.  Ben teaches at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and has formally directed News Channel 9 Science Theatre.  He has also produced science lessons for the Weather Channel, About.com, and a Christian satellite broadcasting network.

We were able to receive and review two of the DVDs: Volume 2: Life Science, Weather and Volume 6: Chemistry.


Volume 2: Life Science, Weather {running time 1:02} includes 12 experiments.

Life Science
Flashlight Animal Eyes
Animal Skulls
Bobby Pins
* What Are You Looking At?
* How Much Do Your Lungs Hold?
* Eating Nails for Breakfast
* Naked Egg

Weather
* Fire and Tornado

* Ping Pong Cannon
* Liquid Nitrogen Cloud
* Cloud in a Bottle
* Garbage Can Vortex

Volume 6: Chemistry {running time 59:31} includes 11 experiments.

* Milk and Food Coloring
* Elephant Toothpaste
* Stains
* Staying Dry - Diapers
* Lava Lamp
* Instant Snow
* Silly Slime
* Hydrogen Bubbles
* Grain Elevator
* HHO Generator
* Mentos Fountain

Thoughts of an 11-year old:  We first watched Volume 2: Life Science and Weather.  Some of the lessons included smoke rings, animal skulls, clouds, and soda can-breaking ping pong balls - all of them homemade!  My mom and I were familiar with only a few of the experiments and we liked watching Ben Roy's enthusiastic approach to them all!  My favorite was when they made a huge nitrogen cloud.  They were all very fascinating!

The second DVD we popped in was Volume 6: Chemistry.  This was my first choice to review.  Just like the first one, it had a few tricks we already knew, but it really was cool!  My favorite was the homemade lava lamps ("can we make one?"), which were surprisingly easy to make.  I'm sure this one would be as tough as the last for favorites - even for me, who hands-down thought Chemistry would win.  It's too tough to decide though.

Science has outdone itself again, all while pointing to our Creator - God!

My Thoughts:  Overall I thought the videos are well done.  They are recommended for ages 4 to 12, but I think they would work best for the younger to middle of that range.  Ben does a good job of engaging the children on the video and explaining the experiments.  It is also nice that at the end of each demonstration, he points to God.

Here is a sample from one of the videos


Find Out More:  You can find out more about Library & Educational Services and the Go Science DVDs online.  Each DVD is just $8.97 and the whole series is $59.82.  The recommended age for the Go Science DVDs is 4 to 12 years old.

You can also find LES on Facebook.

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer


Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox! 

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Dance Recital


I realize it's a small picture but one of my favorites from Funny Bunny's dance recital this past weekend.  You can click on it to make it larger.



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Dog Costume Review

We had the opportunity to review the most adorable dog costume for our dog Maisy.  We thought she would look super cute as a pirate girl, so that is what we chose!


Wholesale Halloween Costumes has a pretty large assortment of dog costumes. We had a tough time choosing between the Pirate Girl and the Alpine Dress, which was also very cute.

Maisy was not really thrilled with putting the costume on, but she put up with it.  Below she is patiently waiting for hubby to come and save her.  Doesn't she look cute?!  Arrgg!  Oh, and here you go, just in case you want to talk like a pirate too.


Overall I was pleased with Wholesale Halloween Costumes.  They have a large selection of costumes and shipping was fast  There was a sizing chart I referred to so I would get the best fit.  The costume fits Maisy well and there have been no problems with it.

We even found another use for it since Maisy probably won't want to wear it again.  The American Girl doll, Ruthie, is looking pretty cute in it too.  Funny Bunny just added a belt to help keep it tight.


Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Wholesale Halloween Costumes.  The Pirate Girl Dog Costumes are just $21.90.  Costumes may only be returned, if they are unworn and in new condition with original packaging within ten (10) days of receipt. 


 

Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Monday, June 23, 2014

Menu Plan Monday - June 23


This past week was super busy so I'm trying to catch up on housework and menu planning today.  Last week VBS and rehearsal for Funny Bunny's dance recital totally through off my eating.  Time to get back on track!

For dinners this week our meals will include:

Spaghetti with Homemade Sauce and a Salad
Black Bean Fajitas
Quinoa Chili and Happy Herbivore Fat Free Cornbread


For desserts I'm going to make: 

Single Serve Blueberry Muffins
Easy Pumpkin Muffins {from The China Study Cookbook}



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Hanging with Grandpa





Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Monday, June 16, 2014

VBS Week


It's VBS week and I'll be helping teach my daughter's class, so posts will be light.  Pray they will be able to Discover, Decide, and Defend.



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Friday, June 13, 2014

Homeschooling through the Summer


Each year it seems like we handle the summer differently.  Some years we have homeschooled year round, some years we have taken a break for a few weeks, and some years we have switched to a lighter schedule.

This year I had originally decided to switch to a lighter schedule of Math and a few workbooks we had floating around.  But then I started to get more and more review products {which I'm SUPER excited about} but it changed our summer schedule a bit.

So here's a sneak peek at some of the reviews I have coming up, and also a look at what we are doing over the summer.

Veritas Press Self-Paced History: Middle Ages, Renaissance, Reformation
Moving Beyond the Page - Literature and Science
Go Science from Library and Educational Services
Homeschool Piano
Analytical Grammar {very excited about this one!!}
Roman Roads Media - Grammar of Poetry
Life of Fred - Fractions {not a review item}

I know it looks like a lot, but I'm alternating them so not everything is done on the same day and we are still finished in a couple hours.

What is your homeschool summer schedule like?



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Thrifty Thursday


Here are some of the thrifty deals for today!

FREE 20 Summer Boredom Busters @ The Reading Mama

FREE Printable World Geography Game @ Sprouting Tadpoles

FREE Father's Day Book @ Happy & Blessed Home


FREE End of School Year Memory Book @ World for Learning

FREE Short e Crazy 8's the measured mom

FREE Father's Day Photo Mats @ Homeschool Giveaways & Freebies

FREE Tornadoes Lapbook with Study Guide @ CurrClick

FREE 4th of July Printable Pack @ Gift of Curiosity


I hope you enjoy some of these FREEBIES! If you know of any others, please leave a comment below. 



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Maisy


Just a little Maisy to brighten your day.  Taken by Funny Bunny on her iPod.



Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Vegan Cuts May Beauty Box Review


Back in April I had the opportunity to review the March Snack Box from Vegan Cuts and now I'm going to tell you a little about the May Beauty Box.

Each Beauty Box is filled with 4-7 new products to try and is sent out each month. Products range from cosmetics to skin care and anything in between. The products are 100% cruelty free and mostly organic and natural.


In the May Beauty Box I received the following items:

Lauren Brooke Cometiques Mascara - It came in an adorable teeny tiny bottle but I've used it a few times already and it works great.

Gourmet Body Treats Finishing Powder - This Raw Finishing Powder is meant to be the last step in your makeup application.  I've used it a couple times and it has a nice feel.  It even comes with a cap with holes so you don't get too much at one time.

Tallulah Jane Eau de Parfum - I actually really like the smell of this perfume. It's not strong and doesn't irritate my skin.  

Skinagain Youth Cream - This cream came in a fairly large 3.4 fl oz bottle, much larger than the other samples I received!  I'm using it so will definitely post again if I can tell a difference in my skin over time.

Sevi Texurizer Spray - I'm loving this hair texture spray!!  The smell is light and airy and doesn't overpower.  I've been using it on days that I don't wash my hair, to give it that fresh feel.  

Goddess Garden Organics Sunscreen - I can't wait to try this sunscreen next time I'm outside for an extended period of time.  It's an EWG Best Sunscreen Pick in 2013.  Hoping it works out because I will buy more if it does.  And according to their website, it comes in a spray as well.

I was really happy with my May Beauty Box!!  I felt like what I received was well over the $19.95 price tag and it was fun to try some new products!

Find Out More: You can find out more online at Vegan Cuts.  Beauty Boxes are $19.95 a month with free shipping.




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Monday, June 9, 2014

Menu Plan Monday - June 9


Happy Monday!!  I was FINALLY able to sit down and plan our menu for the week so this week's dinners are going to be yummy!!

I was also visiting a local bookstore and found a book called The China Study Cookbook.  I had heard about The China Study but didn't know there was a cookbook.  I sat for a few minutes flipping through the pages and some of the recipes looked really good!!  I'm trying to decide if I should buy it. In the meantime, I found a preview on Amazon and found a muffin recipe I'm going to try.

Last week we had one of our favorite meals, Bean and Veggie Fajitas.



For dinners this week our meals will include:

Vegan Stuffed Shells
Spanish-Rice Enchiladas
Quinoa Chili with Happy Herbivore Fat Free Cornbread
Quick Burgers
Spaghetti with homemade sauce and a side salad

For desserts I'm going to make:

Single Serve Blueberry Muffins
Easy Pumpkin Muffins {from The China Study Cookbook}




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Thrifty Thursday


Here are some of the thrifty deals for today!

FREE Top Ten Mistakes Teen Writers Make @ Write at Home

FREE Editable Weekly Homeschool Planner @ Learning to Walk

FREE Memory Book Printable @ World for Learning

FREE Writing Prompts Calendar @ Are We There Yet?

FREE Minecraft Bingo @ Frugal Homeschool Family

FREE Science Curriculum @ Benoit Academy

FREE Summer Cut it Out Pack @ The Reading Mama

FREE Father's Day Book @ Happy & Blessed Home

FREE Letter O Printablethe measured mom

FREE Bird Resources for Nature Study @ Homeschool Giveaways & Freebies

FREE Colors Emergent Reader @ CurrClick

FREE Literacy Printables @ Gift of Curiosity

FREE Printable Homeschool Planner Pages @ Homeschooling on a Dime

FREE Summer Reading Coupon Book @ Grace-Filled Moments

I hope you enjoy some of these FREEBIES! If you know of any others, please leave a comment below. 




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Wordless Wednesday: Ready for Summer!


Are you ready?




Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox!

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Progeny Press Review

Progeny Press Review
Funny Bunny LOVES to read!  She can be found any time throughout the day with her head in a book. Some books she's read over and over again.  I know she is comprehending what she is reading, but most of the time she doesn't want to tell me about the books.  Asking her simple questions is like pulling teeth.  And I don't want to read every book she reads just so I can make sure she is understanding them.

So I was happy to learn more about and review a product from Progeny Press.  Progeny Press sells study guides for literature from a Christian perspective.  Their mission is "To teach our children to think clearly, to understand literature, and to rely on the scripture for truth and values, and enjoy themselves while they do it!"

Each literature guide is available in three versions: a physical book, a CD with a PDF e-book, and a downloadable PDF file.  I received the downloadable and interactive study-guide, Anne of Green Gables. Progeny Press has made my job easier with this great study guide!

Progeny Press Review
The Anne of Green Gables Study Guide starts off with a note to the instructor, synopsis, a page about the novel's author, and optional pre-reading activities.

I found the note to the instructor especially helpful.  It helped me to prepare Funny Bunny for the study.  It recommended additional resources like a Bible and dictionary and gave some great tips on how to successively complete the study.

The middle grades and high school study guides take about 8-10 weeks to complete if working on one section per week.

Chapters are broken down into sets.  For instance, chapters 1-4, 5-10, 11-15, etc.

Our guide contained the following sections for each set of chapters.  I've included a sample for each with Funny Bunny's answers.

Vocabulary


Questions



Thinking About the Story


Dig Deeper


Optional Activities


You can easily see her answers in the shaded area.  We have the option to print it out and write the answers or type them into the PDF, which is what we chose.

This study guide is not only making her dig deeper into Anne of Green Gables, which she has read many, many times, but it's also taking away the work from me, which is nice!

Thoughts of a 11-Year Old:  I liked the Anne of Green Gables study guide fairly well. It helps you dig a bit deeper into the book, diving into the literature of a famous author, and actually understanding in the process. I am sure very many children have read Anne of Green Gables in it's original state and paused at every page, wondering What does this mean and what does that mean? And, can't anybody explain it in a way that I will understand? Many people would just say to skip over the hard words, but I think the Anne of Green Gables study guide really will help grasp the concept of the book as well as the details.    

Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Progeny Press.  The Anne of Green Gables Study Guide is $18.99.  This e-guide is downloadable and interactive. Once opened you can print it out or enter the answers directly in the guide.  It's recommended for grades 5-8.

You can also find Progeny Press on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and YouTube.

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer

Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to Our Homeschool Reviews and get our articles right to your inbox! 

©2010-2014 Our Homeschool Reviews. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. http://ourhomeschoolreviews.blogspot.com/