Sunday, December 30, 2012

And the Where God Finds You Winner Is...

Comment #18:  Miranda Gonzalez said...I would love to win this book because I love learning from the women in the Bible!

I used to pick the winner and I have already notified her via email.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the Where God Finds You Giveaway via Our Homeschool Reviews and thanks again to Anita Higman for allowing me to offer this great product! 

Friday, December 28, 2012

Homeschool Mother's Journal 12-28-12

In our lives this month…

Lots of shopping, buying, wrapping, decorating, and cooking!!  We also finally caught up on all school subjects and are right on track for the start of the new year.  I'll update on all that January though.

Gingerbread Men {and Women}

Spreading the Raspberry Jam

Linzer Cookies

Maisy getting too close to the present wrapping

Tree #1

Tree #2

Cookies, carrots, and milk

Funny Bunny playing in her new sleeping bag...and how I feel right about now.  ;)

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful upcoming New Year!!!


Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Thirty-One Gifts Outlet Sale!

Have you heard the news?  If you already receive my newsletter then you should have!  Thirty-One Gifts is having it's Outlet Sale where you can shop retired prints and styles at up to 70% off from now until noon on Friday, December 28th. 

I will warn that the site is currently running really slow and timing out because of all the traffic, so if you can't get in, try again a little later.  Also, once you are able to shop, please visit the FAQs for important information on shipping and returns.

If you are not a current email subscriber but would like to be added so you can receive notifications of any sales and promotions, send me your email.

Thanks and happy shopping!

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Merry Christmas!

We are winding down for the night, and although we had a great day with family, we are tired and ready to relax.  I hope each one of you had a very Merry Christmas!! 

Friday, December 21, 2012

FREE Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil!

Now through midnight on December 25th, get a FREE 32 oz jar of Organic Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil!  One of the highest quality coconut oils on the market.

To get your FREE jar of Organic Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil simply click the link and you will see the Christmas Special on the right side of the page.   

*Limit one per order and one per customer. Minimum order of $16 applies. While supplies last.  NOTE: You must place this FREE item in your cart to receive it! It is NOT added automatically.

Tropical Traditions is a wonderful company and even with the $16 minimum order, this is a great deal!  They have many organic items and I especially love their Organic Raw Honey!!

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Where God Finds You Book Review & Giveaway!

“Have you ever longed to crawl into the pages of the Bible?  To walk on the Judean hills or feel the spray of the Red Sea?  To know what it’s like to confront a king or pour perfume on a Savior’s feet?

“In forty devotional tales, Where God Finds You breathes new life into ancient Bible characters.  Through reflection on Scripture and prayer, you’ll discover a place in each of these lives of vulnerability, tenderness, truth and love – a place where you can find God….and where God finds you.”

Where God Finds You: 40 Devotions Bringing Bible Characters To Life is just that.  Anita Higman, award-winning author, takes us back in time.  

It is unique among women’s devotional books in that it brings dozens of men and women of the Bible to life through dramatic short stories, connects biblical truths to today’s culture, and offers readers an opportunity to reflect on what they’ve learned.  Each devotion features:

A dramatic retelling of Scripture that allows the reader to crawl into the pages of the Bible.

The Story from God's Word: a quote or paraphrase of the applicable Bible passage in a reader-friendly version.

The Story—From Then to Now: a personal reflection from the author to help link the passage to life today.

The Story—Questions to Think About: prompts for personal reflection or group discussion that lead to practical application. 

My Thoughts:  These devotions are much different from any others I have read.  They really take the reader on a journey back in time to the place where the events happened.  I enjoyed reading the author's story along side of the actual Bible passages.

Find Out More:  You purchase Where God Finds You: 40 Devotions Bringing Bible Characters to Life on Amazon for just $10.33.  You can also find out more about Anita at her website,



So, here's how to enter to win one (1) copy of Where God Finds You!!  For each comment, you will get one (1) entry. 

1. Leave a comment telling me why you would like to win. 

2. Like Our Homeschool Reviews on Facebook   

3. Follow my blog using Google Friend Connect 

4. Follow me on Twitter @OurHSReviews 

**Remember to please leave a separate comment for each entry**

Contest ends on Friday, December 28, 2012 at 11:59 EST.  The winner will be chosen by  This contest is open to U.S. residents who are 18 or older.  If I am unable to reach the winner by email within 48 hours, an alternate winner will be selected.  Your entry is only valid if you include a way for me to contact you (either an email address in your comment or on your profile).  The winner's name will be obtained and publicly announced.  The number of eligible entries determines the odds of winning.  No purchase is necessary to win and this contest is void where prohibited by law. 

Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own.


Jesus wept. ~ John 11:35

Friday, December 14, 2012

Amazon Deal: Scotch Laminator on Sale!

Wow, the Scotch Thermal Laminator 2 Roller System is on sale for just $16.99!  It's normally $80.49 so that's a great deal!  And it's eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25!

Monday, December 10, 2012

Christmas Cash Giveaway ~ $600!!

Christmas is almost here!  The winner of this Christmas Cash Giveaway will receive their prize in enough time to get last minute gifts (or pay bills!)  Who couldn't use an extra $600? 

Just visit Hearts at Home Curriculum to enter!  And while you are there, check out these great deals!

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Encouraging One Another!

Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works. Hebrews 10:23-24

How will you stir up one another to love and good works?

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Wordless Wednesday: Cooking

Funny Bunny earned her Cooking Badge through American Heritage Girls last week!

Making pizza dough

Making a salad

She also had to make a one-pot dish, start a recipe box with five recipes, make cookies for her troop, and learn different cooking terms.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Truth in the Tinsel Update

I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I was thinking about purchasing Truth in the Tinsel: An Advent Experience For Little Hands for Advent this year.

I had read great reviews on it for the past couple years and thought it would be fun for Funny Bunny and I to complete together.

Well, I did purchase it and we started working on it over the weekend.  We are on track and will complete Day 4 today.  Funny Bunny is loving it and I am so pleased!!

The one thing that I have to mention is that older children can work on this as well as young!  Their website says it is geared for preschool to elementary, which made me think it was for younger children, but it is also perfect for those in upper elementary, who can complete the crafts with little to no help!

If you are still looking for something for Advent, there is still time and you can jump right in!  Truth in the Tinsel: An Advent Experience For Little Hands is only $7.99 and you will be able to download it immediately!

And now you can get the printable Truth in the Tinsel ornaments! Use these on days you’re too busy to do a big craft, for toddlers, while you’re at Grandma’s or if you just want to save a little money on supplies!  The printable ornaments are only $3.99.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Menu Plan Monday - December 3

Ekk, it's been a few weeks since my last menu post!  Rest assured I'm still plugging away at the plant-based diet.  I have taken some days off here and there, and eaten the occasional cookie, but for the most part, I think I've stuck with it.

Here are my meals for the week:

Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce
Garden Vegetable and Bean Soup
Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili
Sausage and Mushroom Etouffee  {minus the Tofurky!!}
Pizza with this Pizza Crust

We are still participating in our local fruit and vegetable co-op.  Today will be our third pick-up and I think it is going pretty well.  I have either been substituting foods in our recipes with what we get in our bag, or finding recipes to go along with what we receive.

If you have any easy plant-based recipes I would love to hear them!


Wednesday, November 28, 2012

And the Tropical Traditions Winner Is...

Comment #59: Jesse M said...I follow TT on twitter

I used to pick the winner and I have already notified her via email.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil Giveaway via Our Homeschool Reviews and thanks again to Tropical Traditions for allowing me to offer this great product! 

Wordless Wednesday: Star Wars

Someone was going through their stash...and it wasn't the 9-year old.  And this is just one bin...

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Share Your Best Black Friday and Cyber Monday Deals

What was the best deal you were able to snatch up this weekend?  

I found a great coupon code and was able to make our Christmas cards online yesterday.  I picked up a couple other things here and there, but to be honest, nothing really spectacular.

This is really the first Christmas since Funny Bunny has been born that we are not buying a ton of toys.  She is 9 1/2 so she's a little harder to buy for.

This is also the first Christmas where we don't need/want any electronics.  Unless of course, there is a surprise Vita Mix under the tree...but I don't see that happening.  ;)

Sooooo...we saved a ton of money by not buying a ton of stuff!!!

How about you?  What deals did you score??

Monday, November 26, 2012

Dial Complete Foaming Hand Wash

Dial Complete Foaming Hand Wash is all dressed up in limited edition holiday designs.  Get in the festive spirit and decorate your home for the season!

The Holiday collection features four cheerful designs: Santa, Snowman, Candy Cane, and Holiday Scene.  Each design will help brighten up your sink with a bit of holiday cheer, both in your kitchen and the bathroom.

These decorative bottles contain Dial Complete's #1 doctor recommended antibacterial foaming hand wash.  This formula kills 99.99% of germs encountered in the household setting while still being gentle on skin.

We received both the Santa and Holiday Scene and have them in our bathrooms.

Funny Bunny especially likes the foam!

Find Out More:  You can find out more online at Dial or on Facebook.

Disclosure:  This product was given to Our Homeschool Reviews for free for review purposes, and I do not have to return the products to the vendor.  I have received no compensation from it and all opinions and experiences within this review are my own.